2-step verification for gmail


In my earlier post on my most use iPhone and iPad Apps in 2012 I mentioned that I hope by now you are using 2-step verification. Google provides us with this great free tool to help better secure your Google account, but you have to opt-in and set it up for it to do you any good.

Basically, once you have 2-step verification turned on and set up, you use your smart phone (android or iOS) as a key fob. The Google 2-step verification app provides a new 6 digit number ever minute. So now instead of just a simple user name and password protecting your Google account (ie your gmail), you now have your user name, your password, and the six digit number from the 2-step verification. Unless the bad guy trying to get into your account has access to your phone and knows your password it is now much much harder for them to get access to your account.

The official Google blog walks you through the process to set up 2-step verification and I don’t think I can improve on what they wrote, so just follow their simple directions:
http://gmailblog.blogspot.com/2011/02/advanced-sign-in-security-for-your.html

Links:

