Are subscription services making Amazon Cloud Player , iTunes Match, and Google Music obsolete?


I recently wrote a review comparing Amazon Cloud Player vs. iTunes Match vs. Google Music. And honestly both Google Music and Amazon Cloud Player have been working fine – the sound quality has been great and I have had no issues listening to my music with either service (I decided to go with Amazon Cloud Player instead of iTune Match so I can’t say much new about iTunes Match). I love music and it’s been great that I have my complete music library with me at all times. I also feel better knowing that my library is backed up to a service.

But I was talking to a friend recently and he thinks I am crazy that I am still buying CDs or even MP3s. He subscribes to a streaming service (Mog) and has all the music he wants, on any device, at anytime all for $10 a month. So for what I spend on an album (maybe an album and a half or even two) he gets unlimited streaming on his laptop and smart phone all month. He can even download music to his device so he can listen to music when he doesn’t have access to wifi or cell service. And using the service he has been able to find new artists he didn’t know about before.

In the US we have Rdio, Spotify, Mog and many other subscription services. They all have their pluses and minuses, but it seems they all could meet your needs. The price plans are also all about the same between the services – $5 a month for streaming just on your PC or Mac and $10 if you want to also stream on your smartphone. So $120 a year for all your music needs? Guess that would save me some money…

Maybe I am just old school, but I still like feeling CDs in my hands or at least “owning” MP3s. I like owning my music. I just don’t think I can give that up and trust a service to meet all my music needs. Am I just missing something?

Links:
https://yourcto.wordpress.com/2013/01/11/amazon-cloud-player-vs-google-music-vs-itunes-match/

Comments are closed.

